ENTRY: Is God into blogging?

Entered by Janet Hornsby.

It was January: a season when ambitions sparked in the warm optimism of the New Year dwindle and fade into the frostiness of winter. Would my goals be any different, I wondered?

God had been speaking to me for months about destiny and calling; about finding my passion; about establishing plans and dreams. Awakened one night by the pelting rain, I felt His Spirit speak into my heart, “Don’t neglect pursuing your destiny.”

Several weeks later my spirit was again stirred, this time by a song: “You were meant to be touching the lives that you touch / And meant to be here making this world so much more / Than it would be without you in it / You were meant to be bringing the gifts that you bring / And singing the songs you’ve been given to sing / You are perfectly, wonderfully, beautifully meant to be.

Icy November trundled into snowy Christmas, and the idea of starting a personal blog as a way back into writing – after a lengthy interruption – began to take hold. By the time New Year arrived, I was convinced. It had to happen, I reasoned; God was in it.

Stepping into the ether

I spent weeks researching, learning, praying for God to teach me, inspire me, make me creative. With some techie help, I launched eagerly into the blogosphere in mid-January.

Every day thousands of web pages and (b)logs are set up, and mine was just one more. But it signalled a step of faith in obedience to God’s pressing. I was filled with hope.

Beginning turned out to be the easy part! After only two short pieces, I faltered, struggling for material and focus. More prayer followed, and eventually I found myself using the blog as kind of digital café – a place for coffee and conversation; a release of the nattering going on in my head.

Heavenly conversations

Many of those chats have been about God and the ways He touches my life. All, I trust, have been inspired and directed by Him as He nudges me to write down my thoughts. Nearly two years later, I am still blogging.

Some weeks I come up empty. Or I catch only a piece of an idea… a fragment of the puzzle, too insufficiently developed to use. Perhaps those dry times are also God’s word to me?

It’s funny to think that God might be into blogging, leading me along this digital tête-à-tête. But it’s part of a journey through all the days He’s ordained for me, and which were written in His book before one of them came to be. Who knows where it might lead?

Lucy is a writer and editor based in the UK. She is author of Forgetful Heart: Remembering God in a Distracted World (2014) and Undivided Heart: Finding Meaning and Motivation in Christ (coming 2017) - both published by DLT books.

Tagged with:
Posted in Entries
One comment on “ENTRY: Is God into blogging?

Leave a Reply

Competition ClosesOctober 7th, 2013
Get your blog posts in on time!
What’s all this?

A blog post writing competition on the theme of Christian Writing in a Digital Age.

Entrants should write a blog post reflecting on the theme of no more than 450 words. Each post should include something to do with writing, something to do with faith and something to do with the digital age.

Entries should be emailed to competitions@christianwriters.org.uk.

Deadline is October 7th 2013.

Click on the 'Competition' tab for more details.

This blog is managed by Bex Lewis (of the BIGBible Project) and Lucy Mills (of the Association of Christian Writers).

As this is a competition, 'entry' content is under the control of individual writers and is posted as it is sent to us. We take no responsibility for opinions, quality or amending typos!

Win a FREE place at #Medialit14
Win a FREE place at #CNMAC13
Win a FREE place at #CNMAC13, 9th November 2013
Recent Posts
Categories
Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

