ENTRY: The Fear Factor

Entered by Fiona Lloyd.

Someone cold-called me this morning. Supposedly, my computer has been downloading unwanted programmes without my knowledge. I hate this kind of call, because I always assume that someone is trying to sell me something I don’t want. Part of me couldn’t help worrying, however. What if he was right? How would I know if my computer’s at risk? This is my biggest issue with technology: I don’t properly understand it – and therefore it scares me.

I’m old enough to remember when a home computer was a novelty. My children, on the other hand, can’t imagine a world without mobile phones and Twitter. I am still astounded by the fact that I can order something one day and have it delivered the next, whereas my kids take these things for granted.

I’ve wrestled with the fear factor in my writing, too. What if I’m not good enough? What if nobody wants to read what I’ve written? Is it even worth starting something if I’m not sure I’ll get to the end of it? I like certainty – but writing makes me vulnerable. I’m a natural perfectionist – but committing my thoughts to paper or screen means being willing to expose my flaws to public scrutiny. I’m slowly learning to ignore the voice of panic in my head and to write anyway, but it’s a challenge at times.

Interestingly, one of the most frequently uttered commands in Scripture is “Do not fear.” (I guess that means I’m not the only one who struggles with this!) By its nature, faith means choosing to trust that which we don’t fully understand. God doesn’t want us to live in fear, but to enjoy the freedom and acceptance that he offers. “Perfect love drives out fear,” says John in his first letter (1 John 4:18, NIV). As we allow ourselves to receive more of God’s love, we give him permission to deal with the fears that can dominate our lives. When I look back over the last few years, I am amazed at how much God has done in me in this area. Not that I’m completely fearless, by any means – but I can see how God is gently helping me to build my trust in him.

Thankfully, I’m also overcoming my fear of technology. For a start, I’m writing this on my laptop. I can now check e-mails, book tickets online and look at Facebook far more often than I really need to. For my day-job, I have a brilliant music-notation programme that lets me write, edit and print music. And (sadly) I’ve become something of an expert on Minesweeper…

Lucy is a writer and editor based in the UK. She is author of Forgetful Heart: Remembering God in a Distracted World (2014) and Undivided Heart: Finding Meaning and Motivation in Christ (coming 2017) - both published by DLT books.

Tagged with:
Posted in Entries
One comment on “ENTRY: The Fear Factor

Leave a Reply

Competition ClosesOctober 7th, 2013
Get your blog posts in on time!
What’s all this?

A blog post writing competition on the theme of Christian Writing in a Digital Age.

Entrants should write a blog post reflecting on the theme of no more than 450 words. Each post should include something to do with writing, something to do with faith and something to do with the digital age.

Entries should be emailed to competitions@christianwriters.org.uk.

Deadline is October 7th 2013.

Click on the 'Competition' tab for more details.

This blog is managed by Bex Lewis (of the BIGBible Project) and Lucy Mills (of the Association of Christian Writers).

As this is a competition, 'entry' content is under the control of individual writers and is posted as it is sent to us. We take no responsibility for opinions, quality or amending typos!

Win a FREE place at #Medialit14
Win a FREE place at #CNMAC13
Win a FREE place at #CNMAC13, 9th November 2013
Recent Posts
Categories
Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

